Everytime you sync Cloud accounts, regardless of whether you do it from iCloud, Dropbox or some other platform, when you modify or delete an account , there is a chance that you may end up losing your iPhone data.
And even if you do not lose all the data, there is still small change that some of it may be merged (with different data), so your device may be very difficult to get it in the state as it was in the first place.
Remove or Change iCloud Account from Apple iPad or iPhone device
Many people have apparently reported that they have experienced this kind of problem when they have synced several accounts among their iOS and Mac devices. In this post we will take a close look not only at the issue of what happens when changing the iCloud account but also about which data ends up being synced, merged and what happens if some of the data gets retained, in order for the users to know better what actually happens when adding a new iCloud account.
Changing an iCloud account is direct process. You only need to go thru two steps; first of all you need to remove the iCloud account from your device, and the 2nd step requires that you log in to your device with the new account. However, this process can be a bit troublesome. And it got nothing to do with data loss. When changing iCloud account you should not worry that you may lose data on your iPhone or iPad because that data is kept safe in the iCloud. What can you do, if you are unable to change your iCloud account due to your device having an iCloud activation lock? In order to overcome this issue follow our instructions on how to remove iCloud lock and permanently remove the activation screen lock of your iPhone device.
The main problem occurs when some data merges and some of the data is retained in the old iCloud account. The result of this is adding a new account with merge of data. In other words, everytime you try to sync accounts they will be imbalanced.
How to remove or change iCloud account info:
- Open settings and Tap on iCloud
- Go to the bottom of the page and select “Delete Account”. A new screen will appear
- If you want to keep the data on your iPhone then select “Keep on my iPhone”
- If you don’t want then select “Delete from my iPhone”. By choosing this, all the data will be deleted from your iPhone but not from your iCloud account.
- Now return to Settings, select iCloud and add a new iCloud account. At this point you will need to decide whether you want to merge iCloud data with already enabled services like Contacts, Reminders, and Calendars.
- Once the merger is complete, the old data which was retained on your phone will be synced with the new iCloud account that was added.
And that’s it. You have successfully changed and modified your iCloud account. This also will prevent notifications, photo syncs etc. which were configured on other devices from using the old iCloud account.